Posted in Cocoa Daisy, Crafting, Creating, Paper Craft, Tutorial

Tutorial: Faux Pocket

EDITED TO ADD: For those who either don’t have a sewing machine or don’t sew, You can also use the double sided tape that you can find at Michael’s with the red backing on it, the skinny stuff.  It works great, you can use it to attach the sides of each of your pockets after you washi tape them on. And also for your back piece as well, adding it to just the sides you need to in order to insert it into your planner :).

And now on with the Tutorial!!

I have been having a blast today playing with paper!!  A few days ago, Christine from Cocoa Daisy posted a short video where she showed off a faux pocket for the front of her planner, and I instantly fell in love with the idea and wanted to make one of my own!

img_1429

I also wanted to share how to do it with you!  So I made a tutorial, that as I am writing this blog post is slowly but surely uploading to my YouTube Channel!  Please subscribe as I will be posting more videos!

Here are the supplies you need to make your own faux pocket!

  • Cardstock, these pieces must be at least the width of your faux pocket, scraps can be used, as most of the pockets should be about 2″ deep unless you want larger pockets, you also need a larger piece that will act as the front of your backing
  • Paper Trimmer
  • Scissors
  • Washi
  • Sewing machine
  • backing cardboard, this is a thin cardboard, I found some on the back of a paper package, or you could use an old cardboard post/mailing envelope
  • a ruler or a cutting mat with measurements on it.

You could also have embellishments if you wanted to decorate the bottom pocket as well, it’s up to you!

I hope you enjoy my tutorial!  I had a few phone issues (space, who needs it!) but I got it sorted now, so upcoming videos should go much, much smoother…lol

Please comment below if you make a faux pocket with a link to your Instagram feed so I can check it out!!  You can also hashtag #plannerfauxpocket on Instagram so that we can all see and be inspired by your pocket!!

Leave a Reply

