Posted in Crafting, Creating, Paper Craft

New Skill Unlocked: Book Binding

Ok a bit of a geeky title, but seriously I feel like I just got an achievement or a Girl Guide badge or something!  Last night the Open Field Craft Collective hosted a book binding workshop and I took part in some awesome fun, and I learned a new skill!

img_1416

Looks like a bit of a mess, but I was in the midst of folding papers to create a “signature” which is the book binding term for one of the booklets of paper that was to go into my book as I bound it.

img_1417

Here all 6 “signatures” are done, and I have threaded my needle to use for binding.  The paper I used was dot grid paper that I printed earlier in the day using this dot grid generator

My settings are as follows

screen-shot-2017-01-29-at-11-34-03-pm

And when you go to print, be sure that you print it at 100% scale, otherwise your dots will shrink and you’ll end up with a white boarder around your pages.  Don’t be scared about the 11×17 document size its just set like that to give you full dot coverage on your 8.5×11 sheet when you print.  I also printed mine double sided with the flip on the short edge, so that I had dots on both sides of the paper, but you could print it one sided and ever second page or so would be blank, or even make a lined template in word and use that, again creating it on 11×17 settings and printing it at 100% scale so that your lines will go all the way to the end of your pages.

img_1419

Here is the finished product. I have chosen to close it with a simple elastic loop which you will see in another post as I would love to share this new skill with you and create a tutorial for my blog!

 

 

One thought on “New Skill Unlocked: Book Binding

Leave a Reply

